FreeTrack Forum

Welcome, you're not connected. ( Log in - Register )

FreeTrack Forum > FreeTrack : English Forum > Support : Tracking System > POV and frame attitude rotation at high angles.

RSS >  POV and frame attitude rotation at high angles., heck...
Mr_Amway #1 21/02/2015 - 00h18

Class : Apprenti
Registered on : 23/12/2014

Off line

Hi there. I am no expert in this filed :)

Flying in ARMA 2. ( the few(spitfires MKi) )

Free track outputs in ARMA are being amplified way too much.(a small but bothersome  problem)
(everythng is fine in free track, trust me, smooth good 1:1 etc etc)

Looking up works fine (X,Y only one IR )
Head tracking is working well.

BUT and this is the kicker.

The FRAME of View is moving around the inside of a SPHERE.

Looking up high and then panning left or right  makes the FRAME
rotate around the X axis.
(try doing this in RL and you will break your neck)

If you use your real eyes and head, you will notice that our "frame" actually rotates DOWN at the leading edge as you look further around. Not up.
So our field of view is fat at the center and tapers off to the +Y and -Y extremes. AND the frame of view tends to angle down as you move it back.

WHY is this important????

Because when you fly you look around and Only you move your frame attitude. This means you will always know where the sharp end of your air craft is.

HOWEVER if Arma 2 changes your frame attitude while you are looking up you LOSE your pointy end reference and can't tell if you are flying PAST or INTO the ground.

This is retarded.

So how do we fix this???

CAN free track control the POV frame attitude in game?

AND can I get a mod to have only TWO IR's so that I get X Y AND   frame attitude.

XY moves the POV around the inside of the sphere and X Y together is the attitude f the frame. (if I look up: POV looks up, if I tilt my head the Frame tilts.

and then we are done and flying while looking up through the canopy is