FreeTrack Forum

Welcome, you're not connected. ( Log in - Register )

FreeTrack Forum > FreeTrack : English Forum > Support : Tracking System > Please help me pick the right parts for a 3-LED cap

RSS >  Please help me pick the right parts for a 3-LED cap
bobtch #1 11/08/2013 - 17h53

Class : Apprenti
Registered on : 24/05/2013

Off line

Hey, would you guys mind checking my shopping list? I have no experience with building such things, so it would be greatly appreciated.

So far, I have picked out these. Bear in mind that the online shop has a ton of things, some having specifications I couldn't make anything of. I expect to be wrong about these things...

OSRAM SFH485P
KEYSTONE - 2474 - BATTERY HOLDER, SNAP CONN, 2 AA
FRIWO - 1891526 - ADAPTOR, PP USB EURO, 5 V 700MA
VISHAY BC COMPONENTS - MRS25000C5908FCT00 - RESISTOR, MRS25 1% 5R90

I'm not sure what kind of wiring would be best for this, to be honest. Also, my soldiering unit literally costed me 4$, and appears to have a flat end, as opposed to a pointed, cone-like one. So I assume I'll have to buy a proper kit, right? I've got the PS3 eyecam and I'd like to be able to use it as it is, as it's brand new. If modifying is really necessary - I will do it, but I hear it does the job w/o it.

Any advice on this is welcome. Thanks to everyone who's helping such electronic DIY noobs as me.

I am not sure whether to use batteries or USB, what would you recommend? If I use batts, is 2xAA holder going to do the job?
Edited by bobtch on 11/08/2013 at 17h54.
Stormrider #2 11/08/2013 - 18h28

Class : Légende du Forum
Registered on : 02/01/2013

Off line

Hi bobtch,
if you take a look at this picture you can see what you need.With your 5,9ohm they only will be a little brighter.But Ir-leds are never visible for the human eye.
Posted Image

As you can see, it doesn't use so much current.Your adapter can provide 700mA,but 200mA should be more then enough .