FreeTrack Forum

Welcome, you're not connected. ( Log in - Register )

RSS >  Are These Parts Good?, First time doing circuitry
cmasupra #1 02/08/2013 - 02h09

Class : Apprenti
Registered on : 02/08/2013

Off line Www

Hello, everyone. After weeks of research, I think I have components that should work together for a head tracking device. However, since this is my first time doing any circuitry, I would like opinions on whether you guys think this is a good setup. I am building a 3 LED headset device.

Webcam:
Logitech Quickcam Communicate Deluxe (IR filter NOT removed).
I read on the forums here that someone with the Quickcam Communicate STX (similar to the Deluxe) was able to use IR LEDs without removing the camera's IR filter, so I'm hoping to have the same luck. I have tested it with a TV remote, and the light was visible; not too bright, but visible.

LEDs:
http://www.mouser.com/ProductDetail/OSRAM-Opto-Semiconductors/SFH-485-P/?qs=K5ta8V%252bWhtaMgyKjFkJPvw==
3 of the famous SFH485Ps.
5mm
1.5V (1.8V max) each
100mA max, but I intend to run them at ~80mA
40 degree half viewing angle (80 total)

Resistor:
http://www.mouser.com/ProductDetail/KOA-Speer/MF1-4DCT52R5R90F/?qs=sGAEpiMZZMu61qfTUdNhG3EzrPz99APh181CAn9I8l0%3d
1 5.9Ohm 1/4Watt resistor. I'm going to put the LEDs in series, so only 1 is needed. If my math is correct, that should put the LEDs at 84mA of current.

Power:
I'm going to use mini USB for power, so I have 3 things related to that:

1) 1 mini USB solder connector:
http://www.mouser.com/ProductDetail/Molex/500075-1517/?qs=sGAEpiMZZMulM8LPOQ%252bykzAp4yt8IxVbhvdLSjXj1%2fM%3d

2) 1 USB to mini USB adapter to plug directly into my computer:
http://www.ebay.com/itm/USB-Connector-2-0-A-Male-to-Mini-B-5-Pin-Male-USB-Adapter-/390599798142?pt=US_USB_Cables_Hubs_Adapters&hash=item5af18fed7e

3) 1 PTC with an iHold of 150mA, an iTrip of 300mA, and a resistance of 17Ohms. I assume it'll only have resistance when it start heating up past 150mA, correct?