FreeTrack Forum

Welcome, you're not connected. ( Log in - Register )

RSS >  Need help with diode parameters
RandomHobo #1 22/10/2015 - 17h36

Class : Apprenti
Registered on : 22/10/2015

Off line

Hi, I'd like to make IR cap, but I'm somewhat new to this whole 'electronics' thing :D Ok, I'm serious now: I found interesting IR LED with 90 degrees view angle, HE3-290AC, but I don't now what parameters to use when calculating resistors. Here is a link to datasheet:

http://www.produktinfo.conrad.com/datenblaetter/175000-199999/181713-da-01-en-IR_LED_5MM_HE3_290AC.pdf

1,7 V / 100 mA values are listed as absolute maximum rating, so I think, that those are 'do not exceed' values, am I right? I think 50 mA should be good, as almost all values are referenced to 50 mA current, but what about voltage? Should I go for 1,35 V (listed in Electrical and Optical Characteristics table)? Or should I choose any point above the point, where current/voltage curve begins to rise and use parameters from this diagram (but not exceed 1,7V / 100 mA of course), remembering, that more current = more intensity but shorter lifetime?

Thanks in advance for help. Cheers!

P.S. If there are better diodes (wider angle, lower voltage, anything that is better than He3-290AC) please tell me. In worst case I'll scrap this idea and use proven SFH485Ps.
Stormrider #2 23/10/2015 - 16h04

Class : Légende du Forum
Registered on : 02/01/2013

Off line

1,7 V / 100 mA values are listed as absolute maximum rating, so I think, that those are 'do not exceed' values, am I right?

Yes I think (am almost sure) it is.
If I take as an example a SFH485p led, it has a forwarding voltage of 1,5V.This means that if I connect it to a 5V powersource it wants to get get rid of that  5V-1,5V=3,5, what happens is more current will go through your led and destroys it.Therefor we need a resistor to limit the current.
And how do you find the right value for the resistor?