FreeTrack Forum

Welcome, you're not connected. ( Log in - Register )

FreeTrack Forum > FreeTrack : English Forum > Support : Tracking System > Need help with setup (first time)

RSS >  Need help with setup (first time)
Dynamic #1 06/06/2015 - 10h19

Class : Apprenti
Registered on : 06/06/2015

Off line

Hey guys.

So i've been trying to research some materials that i need for a 3 point tracking system. But I have limited knowledge in this electrical wiring stuff....

So gonna post some links here and show what I want to get.

I found these LED's:

http://www.jaycar.com.au/Active-Components/Optoelectronics/Optocouplers/5mm-Infrared-Transmitting-LED/p/ZD1945

I'm confused about the battery, Should i get one of those 9 V batteries or just a AA or AAA battery? I imagine that would affect the type of resistor required? So what battery should i get and what resistor?

I found one of these: (is this required if I use the 9V battery?)  http://www.jaycar.com.au/Passive-Components/Resistors/Carbon-Film/120ohm-1-Watt-5%25-Carbon-Film-Resistor---Pk-2/p/RR2552

PS: I live in Australia, so i'm not looking for items found on american websites (they cost a lot for shipping).

Thanks.
Edited by Dynamic on 06/06/2015 at 10h20.
Stormrider #2 07/06/2015 - 12h44

Class : Légende du Forum
Registered on : 02/01/2013

Off line

Hi there,
I think those leds will do.Only their viewing angle is only 30 degrees, maybe you need to file them down if you encounter problems with it.
A good alternative for batteries is a usb-backup battery used for smartphones or tablets.
Posted Image

It is rechargable and gives a constant voltage of 5Volt.With batteries the voltage always drops and make your leds fading away.And when this backup battery  is empty?Mine(like the one in the picture) I can charge while Iam using the 5V output.I don't use usb-ports of my pc, just because I don't want to take any risk with my pc.