FreeTrack Forum

Welcome, you're not connected. ( Log in - Register )

FreeTrack Forum > FreeTrack : English Forum > General Discussion > Improve! Make better than trackIR! / +Launchpad

RSS >  Improve! Make better than trackIR! / +Launchpad, bright idea to improve FreeTrack massively
Scipione #1 08/11/2011 - 16h52

Class : Apprenti
Registered on : 26/03/2009

Off line

T think that we must put FreeTrack on launchpad...

https://launchpad.net/

Here's my idea to improve FreeTrack and to make TrackIR obsolete:

1.Foreword

I knew tha FreeTrack is only for windows, for some games. I had a lot of issues the last times I tried to use it, after bought the PS3Eye an spent weeks for building 3point clips, and weeks trying to get FreeTrack to work. Finally I gived up... the flight simulation! I have HOTAS Cougar, Pedals, a top-edge computer and licences for LOMAC fc2 and X-Plane... but I lost the hope to move my head in the game without gift money to natural Point (and I'm an engineer, not a stupid kid xD ).

2. Synopsis

- FreeTrack is only for Windows;
- FreeTrack is only for some titles;
- FreeTrack is not user-friendly;
- I apreciate A LOT the work of those people who worked hard, gratis, to develop freetrack.

3. Ehat about my suggestions

- Make FreeTrack more 'open':
  - portable (WinXP, Vista, W7, Linux, Mac, either x86 and x64);
  - not only for games or simulators (also motion capture, touchscreen, xperiments, etc.);
- make FreeTrack more user-friendly;
- beats Natural Point xD

4. What is needed to do this

a) Enlarge the comunity of users, supporters and developers
- sharing the source code, and with the intent to make freetrack portable to all OS and for other usings, the involved people will augmentate;
- doing a recruiting campaign for the developer comunity searching in comunity of open source game developers, but also non-official modding comunities (think about freefalcon, Openfalcon, etc.);

b) Organizing better the work: