FreeTrack Forum

Welcome, you're not connected. ( Log in - Register )

FreeTrack Forum > FreeTrack : English Forum > Support : FreeTrack Software > "head mouse" anyone here tried this?

RSS >  "head mouse" anyone here tried this?
tony #1 22/10/2007 - 20h25

Class : Apprenti
Registered on : 08/10/2007

Off line

i found this tool, http://nipg.inf.elte.hu/headmouse/headmouse.html

its a simple program that just requires a webcam.  it works ok but it just feel a bit primitive, seems ok for flight sims but maybe not for FPS's where acuracy is required.
from my newbie post below ive been havin probs findin out exactly what i need to get freetrack goin as i have zero experience with electronics.

my question is can people give this program a shot and tell me if its as good as freetrack as i believe in principle it the same thing, minus all the hassle
Kestrel #2 23/10/2007 - 02h01

Webmaster (admin)
Class : Webmaster (admin)
Registered on : 13/07/2007

Off line

Headmouse:
*too dependent on lighting conditions
*requires strong light to see the face
*max fps requires a low exposure which makes the face hard to see
*facial feature tracking is computationally intensive
*questionable tracking accuracy using unreliable and poorly defined facial features that vary with lighting and perspective.
*doesn't use TrackIR interface
*only emulates mouse
*limited to 2 degrees of freedom

You could always take the trial and error approach to making a circuit Tony. Battery + leds is all it is. It's about as easy as electrical circuits come.
einsena #3 23/10/2007 - 02h14

Registered on : 27/08/2007

Off line

tony @ 22/10/2007 - 22h25 a dit:

i found this tool, http://nipg.inf.elte.hu/headmouse/headmouse.html

its a simple program that just requires a webcam.  it works ok but it just feel a bit primitive, seems ok for flight sims but maybe not for FPS's where acuracy is required.