FreeTrack Forum

Welcome, you're not connected. ( Log in - Register )

RSS >  Webcam compatibility feedback, Share your webcam experiences
Ronan #106 03/09/2008 - 21h56

Class : Apprenti
Posts : 1
Registered on : 03/09/2008

Off line

Logitech Quickcam OK

Apple iSight (the on inside a macbook pro 3.1) doesn't work.
I get half a picture at about 2 fps (sometimes spf), if I select mjpeg @ 60
The top half of the picture is the normal output and the bottom half has been processed by FreeTrack (red and black).
And if I try with anything else than mjpeg, FreeTrack crashes.

From windows event log :
Type de l'événement :    Erreur
Source de l'événement :    Application Error
Catégorie de l'événement :    Aucun
ID de l'événement :    1000
Date :        03/09/2008
Heure :        23:20:26
Utilisateur :    N/A
Ordinateur :    XXX
Description :
Application défaillante freetrack.exe, version 2.1.2.264, module défaillant kernel32.dll, version 5.1.2600.5512, adresse de défaillance 0x00012aeb.

Pour plus d'informations, consultez le centre Aide et support à l'adresse http://go.microsoft.com/fwlink/events.asp.
Données :
0000: 41 70 70 6c 69 63 61 74   Applicat
0008: 69 6f 6e 20 46 61 69 6c   ion Fail
0010: 75 72 65 20 20 66 72 65   ure  fre
0018: 65 74 72 61 63 6b 2e 65   etrack.e
0020: 78 65 20 32 2e 31 2e 32   xe 2.1.2
0028: 2e 32 36 34 20 69 6e 20   .264 in
0030: 6b 65 72 6e 65 6c 33 32   kernel32
0038: 2e 64 6c 6c 20 35 2e 31   .dll 5.1
0040: 2e 32 36 30 30 2e 35 35   .2600.55
0048: 31 32 20 61 74 20 6f 66   12 at of
0050: 66 73 65 74 20 30 30 30   fset 000
0058: 31 32 61 65 62 0d 0a      12aeb..


From what I read on the web :

The iSight doesn't stream video in the well-supported YUYV
and MJPEG formats, but in the UYVY format.



So it may very well be the cause of the problem...


Edit : works with SplitCam... but takes a full 30% of the CPU on a core 2 duo 2.2GHz :(
And the information about SplitCam was a bit burried into the forum, it should IMHO be on the webcam compatibility page :)
Edited by Ronan on 03/09/2008 at 22h08.
nilsca #107 15/10/2008 - 13h41

Class : Apprenti
Posts : 11
Registered on : 14/10/2008

Off line

:D Asus 20" Flatscreen Monitor PW201 with integrated 1.3M Webcam


Posted Image


Auto-exposure can be disabled
Freetrack does work great identifying my setup's IR LEDs without me having removed the IR Filter(!)

Cheers
Nils
mcurty #108 16/10/2008 - 09h58

Class : Apprenti
Posts : 5
Registered on : 11/10/2008

Off line

hey everybody,

the LOGITEC QUICKCAM FOR NOTEBOOKS works fine after you put a little piece of a negative on the lens. :pirate:
Price: about 18 euro :lol:

greetings
mcurty
svet-am #109 21/10/2008 - 23h20

Class : Apprenti
Posts : 5
Registered on : 21/10/2008

Off line

Are there recommendations on the best webcam to use that is compatible with 64-bit Vista?

While I am trying to be a bit frugal (otherwise, I'd just buy a TrackIR), I don't want to waste time with a crappy webcam.  So, best bang-for-buck recommendations on Vista 64?

thanks!
lavida #110 22/11/2008 - 23h27

Class : Apprenti
Posts : 1
Registered on : 22/11/2008

Off line

Saitek w300 web cam doesnt work with new 2.2.0.279   freetrack version, but it works greatly with v2.1 . Full 30-31 fps all the time and jitter between 0 or 1.

With new version i cant get camera properties windows with details about my camera :(
didja #111 23/11/2008 - 10h10

Webmaster (admin)
Class : Webmaster (admin)
Posts : 1043
Registered on : 09/07/2007

Off line Www

lavida @ 23/11/2008 - 00h27 a dit:


With new version i cant get camera properties windows with details about my camera :(



Try to tweak it using amcap ( Start, Execute, "amcap.exe", Enter).

Rémy
Posted Image
binhex #112 05/12/2008 - 18h26

Class : Apprenti
Posts : 1
Registered on : 05/12/2008

Off line

iSight on macbook pro (late 2006, core 2 due 2.16ghz) works great in low light after some settings tweaking.

I was too lazy to go out and buy some leds so i just put a red piece of plastic over an led headlamp I own, and it worked!  :D
MAXHO #113 09/12/2008 - 06h27

Class : Apprenti
Posts : 10
Registered on : 09/12/2008

Off line

Please add theese cams as INCOMPATIBLE:
Genius EYE 320
- cannot change camera settings even with EnBtn.
- only YUY2 stream.
- 30 FPS can be acheived only with very good illumination.
Genius i-Slim 330
- cannot change camera settings even with EnBtn.
- YUY2 and MJPG stream.
- 30 FPS can be acheived only with very good illumination.

Theese cams are Plug&Play both. It seems Plug&Play cams cannot be tweaked manually?
Edited by MAXHO on 09/12/2008 at 06h30.
MAXHO #114 09/12/2008 - 23h29

Class : Apprenti
Posts : 10
Registered on : 09/12/2008

Off line

Logitech QuickCam E 2500
Works perfectly with FreeTrack. 30 FPS, 0-1 Jitter, manual focus, tweakable other settings. It seems there is no built-in IR filter, works well with IR lights. Thanks for FreeTrack! =)
Edited by MAXHO on 10/12/2008 at 05h44.
SixIron #115 20/12/2008 - 21h24

Class : Apprenti
Posts : 5
Registered on : 20/12/2008

Off line

MS VX3000, $29 CircuitCity

Works fine without any filter removal or added film filter modifications.
Works in normally lighted room even with some sunlight from window.
Used Enabler to uncheck auto exposure.
Had to fool camera with white paper to get FPS to max at 30. and then save configuration.
Using Radio Shack Hi Intensity I/R LED's, 1.2v 100ma, sanded flat.
30 FPS, 0-5 jitter
whatmi #116 30/12/2008 - 14h46

Class : Apprenti
Posts : 6
Registered on : 29/12/2008

Off line

Sorry, I think I was supposed to post this into this topic, not the one I had originally:

I have setup my PS3 eyetoy on my PC with FreeTrack.  I have the directshow capture support working, and my eyetoy shows up in FreeTrack.  BUT, on the camera tab, when I click show, I get "traditional" looking video, with no tracking points.  The threshold slider does nothing.  By comparison, when I use my Logitech camera, the video is bichromatic red and gets lots of little targetting crosses.

Is this
a) An issue with MY system/camera.
b) An issue with FreeTrack/PS3 eyetoy interaction.

Has anyone gotten the eyetoy working?  Has anyone had similar problems with a different camera?
imentec #117 11/01/2009 - 00h58

Class : Apprenti
Posts : 1
Registered on : 11/01/2009

Off line

Hi,i'm writing from spain.

I bought a webcam TVISTO model tvtacm330 in Carrefour and it cost 12€.
It has only rgb,autoexposure can be disabled,...

I have built a 3 red leds(1.2 v 20mA) cap and .......IT WORKS GREAT!!! yuhuu!!   :lol:  (2xbatteries 1.5 v)


Firstly,i only was able to reach 4 frames(ouch!)  :(   ,but i disabled an option(i dont remember the name)which was set to 50 hz to none and i reach 30frames.(0-5 jitter)

Works in dark room,and with lightened room.

I played rfactor very well.
Edited by imentec on 11/01/2009 at 11h45.
whoodie #118 12/01/2009 - 15h04

Class : Apprenti
Posts : 2
Registered on : 12/01/2009

Off line

Microsoft VX-3000 works great.  There are a few dead pixels on the sensor, other than that it works just fine.

I am using 3 layers of exposed photo film as the filter.  The radio shack part numbers for the LEDs are:

276-0143 - High-Output 5mm Infrared LED
33 Ohms in resistors
5 volt cell phone charger

Everything works awesome.  Big thanks goes to the developers for making this happen, you deserve a beer!
optocus #119 13/01/2009 - 08h04

Class : Apprenti
Posts : 1
Registered on : 13/01/2009

Off line

As somebody said before me, Genius EYE 320 is incompatible with FreeTrack. It has a nice picture but unless you have a huge amount of light you won't reach anything near 30FPS. In FreeTrack I get 3FPS.

It seems that most Plug 'n' Play cameras that don't need drivers are YUY2 and lack manual controls for exposure.

Wish I didn't let myself carried away and done the proper research before buying. No I'll go buy a MS VX1000.
Fu®io #120 13/01/2009 - 21h50

Class : Apprenti
Posts : 18
Registered on : 19/12/2008

Off line

Logitech Quickcam Express work slowly, only 15FPS (old PID). Avoid it.
Edited by Fu®io on 13/01/2009 at 21h51.

 >  Fast reply

Message

 >  Stats

2 user(s) connected during the last 10 minutes (0 member(s) and 2 guest(s)).