FreeTrack Forum

Welcome, you're not connected. ( Log in - Register )

RSS >  Webcam compatibility feedback, Share your webcam experiences
Stormrider #256 12/11/2013 - 09h50

Class : Légende du Forum
Posts : 453
Registered on : 02/01/2013

Off line

Posted Image

it is better to have all the auto-funtions turned off.If they are greyed out you can use a tool named windows-enabler to dissable it.
What kind of filter are using to block the normal light?

That exposure slider must be more to the left.
I know I have a different webcam but these are my settings
Posted Image
justonce01 #257 12/11/2013 - 14h44

Class : Apprenti
Posts : 10
Registered on : 30/09/2013

Off line

That's the white balance set to auto. I changed it manually to fluorescent or incandescent, but it didn't have an effect on the FPS.

I'm using it currently without a visible light filter by just turning the room lights off (playing in a dark room). I do have one of those TV remote dark plastic bars which block out the visible light. Using it gives me the same results (17FPS, with 3FPS jitter).

Maybe this webcam isn't just good enough.

EDIT: Actually, I tried the auto-exposure trick again and it worked. This time the lag went away, no idea why.
Edited by justonce01 on 13/11/2013 at 16h36.
Captain.Momo #258 13/03/2014 - 14h54

Class : Apprenti
Posts : 2
Registered on : 13/03/2014

Off line

Hi Guys!

I use Logitech's C270H webcam and it works great. No disassembly is required, just stick 3 layers of exposed films in front of the camera, and VOILA! Works flawlessly.

I love FreeTrack!
Daeron_Black #259 08/07/2014 - 13h10

Class : Apprenti
Posts : 3
Registered on : 08/07/2014

Off line

I have a build in webcam(Laptop) but the FreeTrack Program cant find it?
Is it because build-in camera's dont work with FreeTrack?

I have a HP Pavilion G7 2272ED if you want to look it up  :D
dipsky38 #260 05/08/2014 - 08h58

Class : Apprenti
Posts : 4
Registered on : 01/07/2014

Off line

Daeron_Black @ 08/07/2014 - 13h10 a dit:

I have a build in webcam(Laptop) but the FreeTrack Program cant find it?
Is it because build-in camera's dont work with FreeTrack?

I have a HP Pavilion G7 2272ED if you want to look it up  :D


hi
i use my  asus n56vz webcam  it works just fine, but i'm using logitech c270 now
but the fps not so great with the built in webcam
maybe you need to update or reinstall the driver and run as admininstrator
Mr_Amway #261 22/02/2015 - 10h08

Class : Apprenti
Posts : 12
Registered on : 24/12/2014

Off line

Sony ps3 eye. It rules. I crank it up to 112 fps and it's smooth as on my crappy system. took the IR filter out. it was no hassle.

I play ARMA 2 for the terrain and the easy flight model. Fave MOD is "the few"
Takistan is awesome for NOE dog fighting. If you don't mind cleaning your air filters often :) or pranging your kite into the hills...

Mr_Amway.
Darkthreader #262 30/03/2015 - 15h26

Class : Apprenti
Posts : 9
Registered on : 27/03/2015

Off line

Is it possible to remove the IR filter in the C270?
Steph #263 31/03/2015 - 16h47

Class : Moderator
Posts : 655
Registered on : 16/11/2007

Off line

Hi,

yes you can.
But,...in new versions of the c270 (august 2014)  the chip and the filter are not seperable anymore- it looks like chip and filter are a single piece now.
Darkthreader #264 03/04/2015 - 16h04

Class : Apprenti
Posts : 9
Registered on : 27/03/2015

Off line

Okay, thanks!
Darkthreader #265 09/04/2015 - 16h04

Class : Apprenti
Posts : 9
Registered on : 27/03/2015

Off line

Okay, I purchased the Logitech C250. It works on Windows 8.1. You have to remove the IR filter, but that shouldn't be too hard. The tutorial for the C200 (http://www.free-track.net/english/hardware/filter_removal/logitech_webcam_c200.php) worked fine, but in the C250 the frame is glued aswell as fixed to the board by screws, so that shouldn't be a problem. I am still fiddeling with setting up everything, but I really recommend the camera. ;)
Carves #266 23/09/2015 - 15h34

Class : Apprenti
Posts : 2
Registered on : 23/09/2015

Off line

Hey there, i build my trackig system whith a "Hama AC-150" Webcam. It was realy cheap only 10€.
First i had a problem with the FPS. Only 8FPS.
I managed to increase the FPS by switching the illumination of the Camera to -7 and switching off the compensation at low light.
No i got 30 FPS and the tracking is working really well
Have fun
Angus94 #267 05/08/2016 - 23h58

Class : Apprenti
Posts : 5
Registered on : 05/08/2016

Off line

can someone give me some advice please, i have this web cam and i would like to know a bit more about the IR filter, it has me confused.

cheers

http://www.logitech.com/en-au/product/hd-webcam-c615?crid=34

i'm running win7 64bit and i cant get a driver for this camera, so i have since purchased a Microsoft LifeView HD VX 3000.
Edited by Angus94 on 06/08/2016 at 05h36.
Stormrider #268 06/08/2016 - 12h46

Class : Légende du Forum
Posts : 453
Registered on : 02/01/2013

Off line

software for your logitech cam
http://www.logitech.com/pub/video/lws/lws251.exe
Unfortunately I know nothing to tell you about its ir-filter.

Ever heard of facetracking?With this your face is tracked not your leds.With this you don't need to modify your webcam.But just like with ir-tracking the light conditions in your room can be a problem.
I wil show you some links with more stuff/software you can use for tracking.
Instead of ir-leds.
http://www.edtracker.co.uk/
The next piece of software is not for free, it costs you something like €2,85 but supports a lot of things you can use for tracking, including facetracking.This is used than instead of freetrack.
http://facetracknoir.sourceforge.net/home/default.htm
https://sourceforge.net/p/facetracknoir/wiki/Home/

Opentrack can also be used instead of freetrack
https://github.com/opentrack/opentrack/releases
https://github.com/opentrack/opentrack/wiki

Freetrack has not been updated since 2008, but can still work but also gives from time to time problems/
Opentrack and Ftnoir are still updated and developed and added more features.
brubblu #269 07/05/2017 - 12h27

Class : Apprenti
Posts : 3
Registered on : 07/05/2017

Off line

Logitech C310 feedback:

Mid Price: 35-45 euro
30-ish FPS, still very smooth movement

I just stuck the two blue / red pieces of film that come with the DelanClip package with tape in front of the lens (see next image) and it works, this is needed with direct sunlight.

Big image, don't know how to resize so I'm using spoiler tags
SpoilerPosted Image

Settings are easy to tune with the Logitech Webcam Software (you just need to open the Logitech Software, go to Quick Capture, open the Controls Tab by clicking on the right hand side button and finally clicking on advanced settings).

Posted Image

FOV is good enough, it never loses my head movements.

I use it with Opentrack 2.3.1.6 and everything is working as expected.
brubblu #270 07/05/2017 - 12h29

Class : Apprenti
Posts : 3
Registered on : 07/05/2017

Off line

Logitech C310 feedback:

Mid Price: 35-45 euro
30-ish FPS, still very smooth movement

I just stuck the two blue / red pieces of film that come with the DelanClip package with tape in front of the lens (see next image) and it works, this is needed with direct sunlight.

Big image
Posted Image
Settings are easy to tune with the Logitech Webcam Software (you just need to open the Logitech Software, go to Quick Capture, open the Controls Tab by clicking on the right hand side button and finally clicking on advanced settings).

Posted Image

FOV is good enough, it never loses my head movements.

I use it with Opentrack 2.3.1.6 and everything is working as expected.
Edited by brubblu on 07/05/2017 at 12h31.

 >  Fast reply

Message

 >  Stats

1 user(s) connected during the last 10 minutes (0 member(s) and 1 guest(s)).