FreeTrack Forum

Welcome, you're not connected. ( Log in - Register )

RSS >  n00b questions
Spatula #1 14/11/2007 - 01h22

Class : Apprenti
Registered on : 14/11/2007

Off line

Hi, im new to this whole free-track thing. I got a cheap webcam looks exactly like Staylos VIMICRO 301 cam. But its called a "ICatch IV". It says on the box it will do 640x480 at 30FPS. I have built a 4 point cap as per the documentation with the recommended OSRAM SFH485P IR LEDS. Theres no IR filter on the camera, so i just added a piece of negative in behind the lens.  I start up FreeTrack and set it to 4 point cap mode and it all seems to work ok.

I have many questions:

1. Whats the advantages of the 4 point, versus the 3 point cap, versus the 3 point clip? I normally play with a headset - and i see the 3 point clip is made for headset wearers. Is the 4 point cap the best setup? If so, what makes it better than the others??

2. The 3 point clip - Is that mounted vertically on one side of the head? As opposed to sitting up on top of the head horizontally?? Anyone got some images of how it sits on a person?

3. With my 4 point cap, i find it next to impossible to turn my virtual head all the way back to look backwards. I tried a 3 point cap, and thats much better and more sensitive. Why is this?

4. With a 4 and 3 point cap, the LED assembly is sitting so far forward (about 15cm or so) of the natural head rotation axis (eg neck). When i rotate my head left and right, i get a certain amount of yawing as part of the movement. If the 4 points where right over top of the spine (eg set back further), then would this eliminate the sympathetic yawing i see when i rotate my head. Eg when i rotate my head, i only want the virtual head to rotate, not yaw as well.