FreeTrack Forum

Welcome, you're not connected. ( Log in - Register )

RSS >  freetrack feedback
C14 #1 29/06/2012 - 09h04

Class : Apprenti
Registered on : 29/06/2012

Off line

Hi,

I'm new to the freetrack community.
First of all, thank you for this program and the detailed instructions!
I'd like to give you some feedback from the perspective of a first time user.

Story:
After watching some videos on youtube about trackir and freetrack,
I decided to try out freetrack.
Reading a bit through the posts in the hardware section, I decided to go for the PS3 Eye and an USB-powered SFH485P point model.
As I did not have any camera film laying around, I used a floppy disk as daylight filter and could see the points quite well with the cameras IR filter still in place (I figured out I have the 'good' model of the PS3 Eye with the removable IR filter). However, what is good for the human eye is not good for a simple thresholding algorithm, freetrack was not able to reliably track the points.
So I removed the IR filter. Unfortunately this filter also changes the focal length -> the image gets blurry when you simply remove it.
In order to compensate for this, one has to file off some plastic at the bottom of the lens system to make the lens system shorter (not easy to get it right, I took off too much and had to recompensate with some foam sheet).
So after some hours, I finally had my IR filter removed and a refocused image.
Then I struggled with the stability of freetrack. First, it crashed all the time with the CL-Eye-Driver-5.0.1.0528. I then installed the new 5.1.1.0176 version, but freetrack still crashes approximately one in two times with access violations.
Then came the calibration, which took some time and is still not really perfect, but finally freetrack works reasonable well.

Question:
What is the effect of the controls in the orientation tab in the Cam settings?