FreeTrack Forum

Welcome, you're not connected. ( Log in - Register )

RSS >  FreeTrack and FaceTrackNoIR
Blindasabat #1 06/06/2012 - 13h49

Class : Habitué
Posts : 82
Registered on : 02/05/2011

Off line

Hi,

I was wondering if it is possible to use my IR point models in FaceTrackNoIR?
On their website I saw that they support Flightgear now and I want to try it out but I have no unmodified webcam and also I have a too slow cpu for facerecognition.

Has anyone experience with this?
Steph #2 06/06/2012 - 15h23

Class : Moderator
Posts : 656
Registered on : 16/11/2007

Off line

Blindasabat @ 06/06/2012 - 14h49 a dit:

Hi,

I was wondering if it is possible to use my IR point models in FaceTrackNoIR?
Has anyone experience with this?



The thing is, that you do not need any ir-mounts as it works with face recognition. :rolleyes:
I have tried an earlier version and it doesn't convinced me, because of a lack of response and problems with centring. But who knows, perhaps the new version is better now.
Zaphod #3 07/06/2012 - 19h59

Class : Apprenti
Posts : 48
Registered on : 29/04/2009

Off line

FlightGear allows you to map joystick axes to 6DOF view, so you can use PPJoy virtual joystick output. Assuming you have PPJoy already setup with six axes all you need to do is copy the following file into the FlightGear subdirectory \data\Input\Joysticks. It assumes you are using 'PPJoy Virtual Joystick 1', if not you will need to edit the file and change the name.

FreeTrackPPJoy6DOF.xml
sf4JC #4 17/09/2012 - 16h24

Class : Apprenti
Posts : 22
Registered on : 10/09/2007

Off line

Hello Blindasabat, I haven't been to these forums in a great while.  In regards to your first question, there is in fact at the moment someone working on a FreeTrack or FreeTrack type "plugin" to actually work with FaceTrackNoIR so hopefully it will be implemented into the next build/release.  As far as your second question (about possibly using a modified webcam with FaceTrackNoIR), I used one in the beginning of my usage with FaceTrackNoIR when I switched over from FreeTrack and it worked okay, but you have to pretty much be in a room with unchanging light to be able to use it reasonably, but it can be done.  Steph is right about responsiveness if you don't get FaceTrackNoIR set up right.  And for accuracy (if you really really need it), FreeTrack is still the way to go.
sf4JC #5 25/09/2012 - 22h13

Class : Apprenti
Posts : 22
Registered on : 10/09/2007

Off line

Wow, it is actually ready for those of you that would want to try it out.  GOTO the following post here at FreeTrack...  http://forum.free-track.net/index.php?showtopic=3401  for more info.

Scott
sf4JC #6 27/09/2012 - 11h56

Class : Apprenti
Posts : 22
Registered on : 10/09/2007

Off line

So far so Good!  Got it running in rFactor, rFactor2, FS2004, and Prepar3D.
flyforever #7 27/09/2012 - 13h45

Class : Apprenti
Posts : 10
Registered on : 09/11/2010

Off line

It's also working fine in FSX win 7 64. Please note that this is a beta and author would like feedback....
sf4JC #8 12/10/2012 - 21h53

Class : Apprenti
Posts : 22
Registered on : 10/09/2007

Off line

Here's a basic video of the software using one of FreeTracks 3-point clip.



Not sure if that will show, so HERE's the link.

Scott
Edited by sf4JC on 13/10/2012 at 15h16.

 >  Fast reply

Message

 >  Stats

1 user(s) connected during the last 10 minutes (0 member(s) and 1 guest(s)).