FreeTrack Forum

Welcome, you're not connected. ( Log in - Register )

FreeTrack Forum > FreeTrack : English Forum > Games and Profiles > So... how do I get this to work with IL-2 1946?

RSS >  So... how do I get this to work with IL-2 1946?
noxnoctum #1 26/12/2009 - 17h03

Class : Apprenti
Registered on : 26/12/2009

Off line

I just bought IL-2 1946 and I'm already longing for something like this... stumbled on it when someone recommended over at the 1c forums, since there's no way in hell I can afford Track IR.

Thing is I don't have a webcam.

So I guess my question is, what exactly do I need, and what is the cheapest webcam I can get and have this work?

I'm a total tech dummy so go easy on me :D.
C6_LeBorgne #2 27/12/2009 - 00h53

Class : Beta Tester
Registered on : 09/08/2007

Off line

Check your conf.ini in il2 Sturmovik 1946 directory

be sure that in the [rts] section

trackIRUse=1

In Freetrack / Output
Freetrack interface and Track Ir interface must be checked .
Edited by C6_LeBorgne on 27/12/2009 at 00h53.
Posted Image
C2D 6420 , 2Go DDR II , 570 GTX , Wiimote , A-quip mini BT Dongle , Thrustmaster Warthog , Pro Gamer Command Unit et PCDASH2
jaceqp #3 30/12/2009 - 17h40

Registered on : 30/12/2009

Off line

Well... In Il2 there's no 100% virtual cockpit - I u can mostly just look around - u can't change your head position in plane. Good for u cause all u need is a webcam and 1-point of LED. 3-4LED systems are nice for some other sims though (like FSX) - cause then u could make zoom-in/out etc with your head.

I can ensure you, that u don't need to make IR LED. I use 3x BLUE-LED cap. If they're bright enough calibrating your webcam will take seconds. Don't need to remove IR filter as well.

As a cheap webcam I use A4-Tech PK-333E webcam:
http://www.itbankeurope.com/PK-333E/
Works fine, no need to do any fps settings etc. It's a plug'n'play for XP and above so no need to run any aditional drivers.